Skip to main content

Warning: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are warned that this website may contain images and voices of deceased persons.

Logo for Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council

GE6A2036 on the way to shipton Flats web

Ask our local rangers about if, where and when it's safe to swim in our region's waterways.

Meet Your Council

The Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council aims to improve the quality of life in the community through coordinated, sustainable and equitable delivery of services that focus on local priorities.

The Council administers the area bounded to the north by the Cook Shire and to the south by Douglas Shire. The Council is responsible for providing essential services, infrastructure and housing to the local community. Councillors are also committed to ensuring that all other services such as health, education, law and order, land management, employment and training are accessible to the whole community.

Councillors and portfolios

Mayor D Tayley

Mayor Desmond Tayley

Portfolio:Governance and Finance

Elected:April 2016

Register of Interests

Mayor Desmond Tayley is a traditional owner of Yalanji (Dawnvale and Wujal Wujal). His personal mission is to enhance the wellbeing of individuals through improvements to the community as a whole.

He is a member of the Far North Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils, Far North Queensland Regional Transport Group, and the Internal Audit Committee. He is on the Board of the Remote Job and Communities Program and is also on the all-indigenous UMI Arts Board of Directors which develops arts programmes for indigenous communities.

Mayor Tayley chairs all internal Council reference committees and also the Local Disaster Management Group, Technical Working Group meetings, Bama Wujal Wujal Warra Advisory Committee, Wujal Wujal Community Safety Committee and the Wujal Wujal Arts and Cultural Centre Policy Advisory Committee.

Deputy Mayor R Bloomfield

Deputy Mayor Councillor Robert Bloomfield


Elected:April 2016

Register of Interests

Councillor Robert Bloomfield is a traditional owner from the Yalanji Tribe of Wujal Wujal. As well as his council duties, he holds a Rugby League Coaching ticket and is involved in supporting and inspiring the young people in Wujal Wujal to achieve through sports.

council b creek web min

Councillor Bradley Creek


Elected:April 2016

Register of Interests

Councillor Bradley Creek was raised in Wujal Wujal and is a traditional owner of Kuku Jalunji (the area near the mouth of the Bloomfield River up to Mount Amos). He is a traditional owner from the Ngungkal clan which covers Shipton Flats through to Black Mountain.

Councillor Creeks works for Jabalbina Yalanji Aboriginal Corporation as a team leader for the Ngungkal Ranger Base, providing work and personal and professional development opportunities on country for local people. In his spare time he is lead guitarist for local Wujal band, the Dalkans.

Vanessa Tayley2

Councillor Vanessa Tayley


Elected:September 2019

Register of Interests

Local resident Vanessa Marie Tayley was elected to the Council on 26 September 2019. She has lived in Wujal Wujal most of her life and has always been a productive and strong community member.

She has worked at the Bloomfield River State School for over 10 yrs and is committed to empowering women and youth, having run several programs for the Wujal Justice Group.

She is passionate about youth and the community and wants to help provide better opportunities and encourage healthier lifestyle choices while actively influencing everyone in the community positively.


council r kulka web min

Councillor Reagan Kulka


Elected:Nominated March 2015; re-elected March 2016

Register of Interests

Councillor Kulka has lived in Wujal Wujal all his life.

Other Council Staff

Chief Executive Officer: Stephen Wilton (07) 4083 9103
Executive Assistant to the Mayor and CEO: (07) 4083 9113
Director Finance and Corporate Services: (07) 4083 9104
Finance Manager: (07) 4083 9108

Finance Unit

Office Coordinator: (07) 4083 9106 
Payroll: (07) 4083 9107
Banking: (07) 4083 9114

Finance Trainee: (07) 4083 9100 

Information Management

Information Management Officer: (07) 4083 9116 

Works and Building Services 

Director: (07) 4083 9122
Coordinator Water and Waste: (07) 4083 9131
Animal Management Officer: (07) 4083 9119
Environmental Health Officer: (07) 4083 9119

Building Services

Coordinator Building Services: (07) 4083 9117
Housing Administration Support: (07) 4083 9120 / (07) 4083 9102

Economic and Community Development

Director: (07) 4083 9111

Community Care Programs

Coordinator: (07) 4083 9126 
Kindergarten Centre Coordinator: (07) 4060 8289 

Indigenous Knowledge Centre

Coordinator: (07) 4060 8094 

Bana Yirriji Centre

Coordinator: (07) 4060 8333  

Post Office / Commonwealth Bank: (07) 4083 9115

Centrelink: (07) 4060 8032

Cultural Engagement Unit

Superintendent: (07) 4083 9100